Transformational lenses ltd.

Books

Building trust: in business, politics, relationships, and life - Robert C. Solomon

Establishing a high level of trust within the coaching relationship is one of the key success factors. In the book, the authors insist that trust is created, that it is a dynamic element, which implies personal commitment. They argue that trust is first and foremost a problem of commitment and maintaining one's commitments, that it is not a problem of trust but rather an inability to maintain one's commitments at the heart of a relationship that is by nature dynamic.

The EQ Edge : emotional intelligence and your success - Steven J. Stein

In this book, the authors point out that emotional intelligence is a set of emotional and social skills. It is our ability to objectively assess our strengths, as well as to be open to examining and questioning our limitations, mistaken assumptions, unrecognized biases, and myopic or self-destructive beliefs. Emotional intelligence also encompasses our ability to read the political and social environment; to understand what others want and need, their strengths and weaknesses; to avoid being overwhelmed by stress; and to be engaging and the kind of person others want to be with.

Humble leadership : the power of relationships, openness and trust - Edgar H. Schein & Peter Schein

Noting that the complexity of the world is growing exponentially, the author, Honorary Professor at MIT, proposes a relational vision of leadership. Leadership would first and foremost be a process of learning, sharing and managing new and better tasks in the dynamic interpersonal and group processes that increasingly characterize today's organizations. According to the author, leadership is always a relationship that develops particularly effectively within a culture that values openness and trust.

Time to think : listening to Ignite the human mind - Nancy Kline

In this book, the author proposes a method for creating the conditions for individual and collective reflection. This method is based on the following 10 principles: respectful listening, incisive questioning, an egalitarian process, recognition of each person's qualities, deceleration, a collaborative approach, permission to express emotions in order to restore reflection, and so on.

The inner game of work - Timothy Gallwey

Coming from the world of professional sport coaching, Timothy Gallwey transposes in this book his coaching method to the business world. His method is based on the following three axes:
1. Awareness: Developing one's level of awareness allows one to know the current situation, the starting point, with clarity.
2. Choice: Choosing allows you to commit to a desired direction for the future.
3. Trust: Trust in one's own resources makes it possible to commit oneself.

The leadership mystique : leading behavior in the human enterprise - Manfred Kets De Vries

In this book, the author, an honorary professor at INSEAD, argues that successful leadership requires behaviour that is very different from the conventional leadership tradition. It requires leaders who speak to the collective imagination, who co-opt them to participate in the business trip; leaders who are able to motivate people to become fully engaged and to make that extra effort. It's about understanding the behaviour of individuals and organizations, building relationships, creating commitment, and adapting behaviour to lead in a creative and motivating way.

Coaching for performance : the principles and practice of coaching and leadership - Sir John Whitmore

The author, Sir John Whitmore, often considered one of the fathers of modern coaching, details his GROW coaching model. According to the author, coaching is more than a skill or technique for individual and collective development. Integrated into the process of communication and relationship building, coaching offers practical and common sense approaches to developing people and services, and is a powerful way to unleash potential and create high performance. Most importantly, it puts people at the top of the agenda, in action and not just in words, and is an essential leadership style for the high-performing culture of the future.

The hedgehog effect : the secrets of building high performance teams - Manfred F. R. Kets de Vries

In this book, the author, an honorary professor at INSEAD, reminds us that life in an organization is above all a social adventure, and that leadership is a team game. Like hedgehogs, it is a matter of finding the right distance or proximity with the other elements of the organization in order to achieve a high level of performance. Too much proximity and too much distance will often alter the quality of relationships within a team. Allowing everyone to find the right measure is one of the roles of the team leader.

Act like a leader, think like a leader - Herminia Ibarra

In this book, the author, a professor at the London Business School, puts forward the idea that it is better to test an idea by acting than to get lost in a long introspection. Acting and learning by doing increases what the author calls the external view - the valuable external perspective that is gained through direct experience and experimentation. As opposed to insight, external vision helps to change the way we think as leaders.

Mindset : changing the way you think to fulfil your potential - Dr Carol Dweck

The author explains why it is not only our abilities and talent that bring us success, but it also depends on our state of mind. She clearly explains why praising intelligence and ability does not promote self-esteem and does not lead to achievement, but may in fact jeopardize success. With a good state of mind, a spirit of growth, we can more easily achieve our own goals, both personal and professional.

The virtues of leadership : contemporary challenges for global managers - Armenio Rego

Organizations, especially multinational corporations, can be essential engines of social and economic progress; the virtues and strength of character of world leaders can be powerful drivers of such an enterprise. They cannot be expected to be morally pure or to take responsibility for solving the world's most pressing public problems. However, this book argues that they can be part of the solution, helping to make the world a better place and responding to the realistic desires of a values-based capitalism.

Learning Leadership : the five fundamentals of becoming an exemplary leader - James M. Kouzes

Learning Leadership provides readers with evidence-based strategies to instill the habit of continuous improvement and the mindset necessary to become the best possible leaders. Emerging leaders, as well as leadership developers, internal and external coaches and trainers, and other human resources professionals, will learn from first-hand stories and practical examples in order to deeply understand and apply the fundamentals of becoming the best possible leaders.

Triggers : creating behavior that lasts - becoming the person you want to be - Marshall Goldsmith

Marshall Goldsmith, best-selling author and world-renowned executive coach, examines the environmental and psychological triggers that can derail us at work and in life. The author shows how we can overcome the trigger points in our lives and effect meaningful and lasting change through the use of questions that measure our efforts, not our results. Goldsmith details the six "engaging questions" that can help us take responsibility for our efforts to improve and recognize when we fail.

Transformational lenses ltd.

Livres

Building trust : in business, politics, relationships, and life - Robert C. Solomon & Fernando Flores

Établir un haut niveau de confiance au sein de la relation de coaching est un des facteurs de succès clé. Dans le livre, les auteurs insistent sur le fait que la confiance se crée, qu’il s’agit d’un élément dynamique, qui implique un engagement personnel. Ils avancent que la confiance est avant tout un problème d’engagement et de maintien de ses engagements, qu’il ne s’agit pas d’un problème de confiance mais plutôt d’une incapacité à maintenir ses engagements au cœur d’une relation par nature dynamique.

The EQ Edge : emotional intelligence and your success - Steven J. Stein & Howard E. Book

Dans cet ouvrage, les auteurs rappellent que l’intelligence émotionnelle est un ensemble de compétences émotionnelles et sociales. Il s'agit de notre capacité à évaluer objectivement nos points forts, ainsi qu'à être ouverts à l'examen et à la remise en question de nos limites, de nos hypothèses erronées, de nos préjugés non reconnus et de nos croyances myopes ou autodestructrices. L'intelligence émotionnelle englobe aussi notre capacité à lire l'environnement politique et social ; à saisir ce que les autres veulent et ce dont ils ont besoin, quels sont leurs points forts et leurs points faibles ; à ne pas se laisser envahir par le stress ; et à être engageant et le genre de personne que les autres veulent côtoyer.

Humble leadership : the power of relationships, openness and trust - Edgar H. Schein & Peter Schein

Constatant que la complexité du monde croît de manière exponentielle, l’auteur, Professor honoraire au MIT, propose une vision relationnelle du leadership. Le leadership serait avant tout un processus d'apprentissage, de partage et de management de nouvelles et meilleures tâches à effectuer dans le cadre de processus dynamiques interpersonnels et de groupe qui caractérisent de plus en plus les organisations d'aujourd'hui. Selon l’auteur, le leadership est toujours une relation qui se développe de manière particulièrement efficace au sein d’une culture qui valorise ouverture d’esprit et confiance.

Time to think : listening to Ignite the human mind - Nancy Kline

Dans ce livre, l’auteure propose une méthode pour créer les conditions favorisant la réflexion individuelle et collective. Cette méthode s’appuie sur les 10 principes suivants : une écoute respectueuse, un questionnement incisif, un processus égalitaire, la reconnaissance des qualités de chacun, une décélération, une approche collaborative, l’autorisation d’exprimer des émotions afin de restaurer la réflexion, etc.

The inner game of work - Timothy Gallwey

Issu du monde du sport de haut niveau, Timothy Gallwey transpose dans ce livre sa méthode de coaching au monde de l’entreprise. Sa méthode repose sur les trois axes suivants : 1. Awareness : Développer son niveau de conscience permet de connaître la situation actuelle, le point de départ, avec clarté 2. Choice : Choisir permet de s’engager vers une direction souhaitée pour le futur 3. Trust : Avoir confiance en ses propres ressources permet de s’engager.

The leadership mystique : leading behavior in the human enterprise - Manfred Kets De Vries

Dans ce livre, l’auteur, professeur honoraire à l’INSEAD, avance qu’un leadership réussi exige un comportement très différent de la tradition de leadership conventionnel. Il faut des dirigeants qui parlent à l'imagination collective, qui les cooptent pour les faire participer au voyage d'affaires ; des dirigeants qui sont capables de motiver les gens à s'engager pleinement et de les inciter à faire cet effort supplémentaire. Il s'agit de comprendre le comportement des personnes et des organisations, de créer des relations, de susciter l'engagement et d'adapter son comportement pour diriger de manière créative et motivante.

Coaching for performance : the principles and practice of coaching and leadership - Sir John Whitmore

L’auteur, Sir John Whitmore, souvent considéré comme l’un des pères du coaching moderne détaille son modèle de coaching GROW. Selon l’auteur, Le coaching est plus qu'une compétence ou une technique de développement individuel et collectif. Intégré dans le processus de communication et de construction de relations, le coaching propose des approches pratiques et de bon sens pour développer les personnes et les services, et constitue un moyen puissant de libérer le potentiel et de créer des performances élevées. Plus important encore, il place les personnes en tête de l'ordre du jour, en action et pas seulement en paroles, et constitue un style de leadership essentiel de la culture d'entreprise performante de l'avenir.

The hedgehog effect : the secrets of building high performance teams - Manfred F. R. Kets de Vries

Dans ce livre, l’auteur, professeur honoraire à l’INSEAD, rappelle que la vie au sein d’une organisation est avant tout une aventure sociale, et que le leadership est un jeu collectif (a team game). A l’image des hérissons, il s’agit pour chacun de trouver la bonne distance ou proximité avec les autres éléments de l’organisation afin d’atteindre un haut niveau de performance. Une trop grande proximité ainsi qu’une trop grande distance bien souvent altérera la qualité des relations au sein d’une équipe. Permettre à chacun de trouver la bonne mesure est un des rôles du leader d’équipe.

Act like a leader, think like a leader - Herminia Ibarra

Dans ce livre, l’auteure, professeur à la London Business School, avance l’idée selon laquelle il est préférable de tester une idée en agissant plutôt que de se perdre dans une longue introspection. Agir et apprendre par l'action augmentent ce que l’auteur appelle la vision extérieure - la précieuse perspective externe que l’on obtient par des expériences et des expérimentations directes. Par opposition à la perspicacité, la vision extérieure aide à changer la façon de penser en tant que dirigeant.

Mindset : changing the way you think to fulfil your potential - Dr Carol S. Dweck

L’auteure explique pourquoi ce ne sont pas seulement nos capacités et notre talent qui nous apportent le succès, mais cela dépend aussi de notre état d’esprit. Elle explique clairement pourquoi faire l'éloge de l'intelligence et des capacités ne favorise pas l'estime de soi et ne mène pas à l'accomplissement, mais peut en fait compromettre la réussite. Avec un bon état d'esprit, un esprit de croissance, nous pouvons plus facilement nos propres objectifs, tant personnels que professionnels.

The virtues of leadership : contemporary challenges for global managers - Armenio Rego and others

Les organisations, en particulier les multinationales, peuvent être des moteurs essentiels du progrès social et économique ; les vertus et la force de caractère des dirigeants mondiaux peuvent être des moteurs puissants d'une telle entreprise. On ne peut exiger d'eux qu'ils soient moralement purs ou qu'ils assument la responsabilité de résoudre les problèmes publics les plus urgents dans le monde. Cependant, ce livre soutient qu'ils peuvent faire partie de la solution, contribuer à rendre le monde meilleur et à répondre aux desiderata réalistes d'un capitalisme fondé sur des valeurs.

Learning Leadership : the five fundamentals of becoming an exemplary leader - James M. Kouzes & Barry Z. Posner

Learning Leadership fournit aux lecteurs des stratégies fondées sur des données probantes afin d'éveiller l'habitude de l'amélioration continue et l'état d'esprit nécessaire pour devenir les meilleurs leaders possibles. Les leaders émergents, ainsi que les développeurs de leadership, les entraîneurs et formateurs internes et externes, et les autres professionnels des ressources humaines, apprendront à partir d'histoires de première main et d'exemples pratiques afin de comprendre et d'appliquer en profondeur les éléments fondamentaux pour devenir les meilleurs leaders possibles.

Triggers : creating behavior that lasts - becoming the person you want to be - Marshall Goldsmith

Marshall Goldsmith, auteur à succès et coach exécutif de renommée mondiale, examine les déclencheurs environnementaux et psychologiques qui peuvent nous faire dérailler au travail et dans la vie. L'auteur montre comment nous pouvons surmonter les points de déclenchement dans nos vies et opérer un changement significatif et durable par l’usage de questions qui mesurent nos efforts, pas nos résultats. Goldsmith détaille les six "questions engageantes" qui peuvent nous aider à prendre la responsabilité de nos efforts pour nous améliorer et à reconnaître quand nous échouons.